Not Our Holiday

I was originally nervous for this night, my first Christmas Eve I wouldn’t be setting up stockings and putting gifts from Santa under a tree. I thought I might feel some sadness or emptiness abstaining from any Christmas celebrating in our home. No tree, no red or green decorations, no Christmas cookies. I am pleasantly and surprisingly shocked to say I don’t have one bad feeling about it at all! I feel very relieved and peaceful about it actually. No big tree to take down, not a zillion gifts to wrap, no Santa pressure, no fancy Christmas meals to make, or cookies to set out. I just gathered up a small amount of gifts to take to the grandparents homes tomorrow and now I get to relax in bed. It’s wonderful! We still get to enjoy spending time with our family and help them celebrate their holiday and then come home, take a nap, play some board games, and go out for Chinese.

I am so grateful for all this year has blessed me with and so excited for a new year! I will officially be a Jew in the beginning of May, along with my children being converted then too. Then come June we will be welcoming our 3rd baby! So many great things are happening and I feel Judaism really helps me see every blessing in a whole new light, everything is just a bit brighter now. Shalom and Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “Not Our Holiday

Leave a Reply

